About Us

We are the Australian and New Zealand Academy of Orofacial Pain (ANZAOP)

About us

The Australian and New Zealand Academy of Orofacial Pain (ANZAOP) is the sister academy of the American Association of Orofacial Pain (AAOP). We are the primary body in the field of Orofacial Pain in Australia and New Zealand.

Our aim is to encourage and support progression in the field of orofacial pain management and to establish and advance the scientific principles on which clinical practice and protocols should be based.

We strive to provide access to information for both practitioners and patients, and aspire to develop and advance training programmes in orofacial pain management at both graduate and undergraduate levels.

In conjunction with our sister academies, to promote the discipline of Orofacial Pain internationally, an International Meeting is help every four years. The ANZAOP holds a scientific meeting annually.

Current Executives

Professor Chris Peck

Secretary Treasurer
Adjunct Professor Robert Delcanho

“The academy is fully committed to our mission, which is extremely important, with a focus on our membership and the people that support it. When you understand collectively ‘what we need to accomplish, and the goals that are set in front of us’… then we have an opportunity to really make a difference.”


President, ANZAOP


Our History

The Academy was established in 1986 as the Australian and New Zealand Academy of Craniomandibular Disorders by Dr Tom Wilkinson who was a member of the American Academy of Craniomandibular Disorders.

Membership was extended to practitioners who were involved in the practice of Craniomandibular Disorders. The Inaugural members were Tom Wilkinson, Cos Maiolo, Lindsay Richards, Alastair Goss, Iven Klineberg, Terry Walton, Kevin Joyce, Frank Maloney, Peter Reade, Jack Gershman, Peter Sutherland, John Armitage, David McNamara and Pat Henry.

The first meeting of the Academy was held in 1987 at the United Dental Hospital in Sydney. Tom Wilkinson was elected Inaugural President with Cos Maiolo as Secretary and Lindsay Richards as Treasurer. Annual meetings rotated between Melbourne and Sydney. Lynne Haysman was the first physiotherapist to become a member and became Secretary in 1995. Dennis Thornburn was the first New Zealand member.

Peter Reade was President from 1997 until 2000 and Iven Klineberg was President from 2001 to 2003. Jack Gerschman served as Secretary/Treasures from 1997 to 2003. Mina Borromeo was President from 2003 to 2005 with Rob Delcanho serving as Secretary/Treasurer. Rob Delcanho was President from 2006 to 2009 with Margaret Duncan and then Lindy Holbrook as Secretary Treasurer.

The Academy has increased in membership and many new members have a background in Orofacial Pain and in 2005 the Academy changed its name to the Australian and New Zealand Academy of Orofacial Pain. In that year the Academy hosted the 4th International Conference on Orofacial Pain and Temporomandibular Disorders in Sydney.

Sisters organisations